Contact: Jennifer Scott (202) 249-6512

WASHINGTON (April 25, 2016) - At the 2016 Responsible Care Conference and Expo this week, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) honored 19 of its member companies for implementing energy efficiency improvements in 2015. ACC presented a total of 50 awards to these companies, 13 of which were deemed programs of "Exceptional Merit." The total energy savings of the winning projects was 4.25 trillion BTUs, equivalent to the annual residential energy needs of a metropolitan area the size of Roswell, N.M.

The Responsible Care Energy Efficiency Awards program is among ACC's many ongoing initiatives to improve energy efficiency . Member companies are required to consider operational energy efficiency as well as waste minimization, reuse and recycling when developing their environmental, health, safety and security plans.

"Energy efficiency is a superb way for companies to enhance sustainability while improving their bottom line," said ACC President and CEO Cal Dooley . "By implementing energy-saving programs and projects, we reduce energy costs and boost our competitiveness in the global marketplace."

The 2016 Energy Efficiency Award winners were selected from the following five categories:

The " Energy Efficiency Program " award is given to companies with broad programs to achieve energy-efficiency improvements, with components such as establishing energy teams, goal setting, communications, management support and recognition.

The " Significant Improvement in Manufacturing " award is given to companies that improve energy efficiency in their manufacturing operations through technical innovations, creative projects or novel procedures or actions.

The " Environmental Impact " award is given for initiatives with substantial environmental benefits, including reductions in greenhouse gas emissions, in addition to improvements in energy efficiency.

The " Non-Manufacturing Improvement " award is given for improvements resulting from energy-efficient lighting, insulation and other building improvements, as well as other non-manufacturing energy improvements.

The " Public Outreach " award is given for an effective program of involvement with the community regarding energy efficiency and related environmental impact activities.

The companies receiving awards in 2016 are:

  • Albemarle Corporation
  • BASF Corporation
    • One project was in conjunction with Total Petrochemicals & Refining USA, Inc.
  • Celanese
  • Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP
  • Dakota Gasification Company
  • The Dow Chemical Company
  • Dow Corning
  • DuPont
  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company
  • FMC Corporation
  • Hexion Inc. 
  • LyondellBasell
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • OHL Dedicated Contract Logistics, a Responsible Care Partner company
  • Praxair, Inc.
  • The Lubrizol Corporation

Following is a list of the 50 Energy Efficiency awards given; an asterisk (*) denotes an "Exceptional Merit" award designation on at least one of the projects awarded. Some companies had multiple entries, as noted by the number in parentheses:

Energy Efficiency Program 
BASF Corporation*
Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP (2)*
OHL Dedicated Contract Logistics
Praxair, Inc.*

Significant Improvement in Manufacturing  
Albemarle Corporation (4)
BASF Corporation (3)
Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP 
Dakota Gasification Company
Dow (5)*
Dow Corning
Eastman Chemical Company (4)
ExxonMobil Chemical Company (6)*
Occidental Chemical Corporation (4)*

Environmental Impact 
Albemarle Corporation*
El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
FMC Corporation*
Occidental Chemical Corporation 

Non-Manufacturing Improvement 
Eastman Chemical Company
Hexion Inc.
The Lubrizol Corporation

Public Outreach 
Occidental Chemical Corporation

Individual ACC member companies nominate specific projects for recognition under the award program. The judging committee that determined the winners is comprised of selected member companies from ACC's Energy Team. The judging committee was joined by James Eggebrecht, professor of engineering and director of the Energy Systems Laboratory at Texas A&M University, and additional experts in the field of energy efficiency.

Award winners were announced and recognized at the opening of the 2016 Responsible Care Conference and Expo in Miami, April 24 - 27. For more information about the conference, please visit .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.