Contact: Scott Jensen (202) 249-6511  

WASHINGTON, D.C. (June 29, 2011) - Today, S.473, the "Continuing Chemical Facilities Antiterrorism Security Act of 2011," won bipartisan approval in the U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee. The bill was introduced by Ranking Member Susan Collins (R-ME) along with Senators Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Rob Portman (R-OH) and Mark Pryor (D-AR) and provides for a three year authorization of the existing Chemical Facility Antiterrorism Standards (CFATS) .

ACC supports S. 473 and is working closely with the sponsors of the bill to secure bipartisan support in the full Senate. In response to this important vote, American Chemistry Council (ACC) President & CEO  Cal Dooley issued the following statement:

"We applaud today's bipartisan vote and commend the leadership of Chairman Joe Lieberman, Ranking Member Susan Collins and the members of this committee over the years to establish an effective chemical security regulatory program. The carefully crafted legislation approved today ensures the effort to secure chemical facilities will continue to advance under CFATS and provides the regulatory certainty that is vital to protecting the economic health of the nation."

Since 2001,  ACC members have helped lead the way on chemical security, investing more than $8 billion on facility security enhancements under ACC's Responsible Care® Security Code , which has become a model for the industry and regulatory programs. 

ACC and their member companies have testified numerous times before the Senate Homeland Security and Government Affairs Committee to express their support for federal regulations that will protect chemical facilities and communities and at the same time allow the business of chemistry to continue to provide jobs and innovative solutions for the country.

Learn more about security .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.