Contact: Scott Jensen (202) 249-6511 

WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 3, 2011) - Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), ranking member of the Senate Homeland Security Committee, Mary Landrieu (D-LA), Rob Portman (R-OH), and Mark Pryor (D-AR) today introduced legislation to extend the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards (CFATS). ACC's President and CEO, Cal Dooley , released the following statement:

"We are encouraged to see Congress take action so early in the session to reauthorize the CFATS and allow the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to build on the proven success of this important security program. The legislation introduced in the Senate recognizes the strength of the current regulations and represents an important step toward making CFATS permanent.

"Last month's oversight hearing in the House on chemical security clearly demonstrated that communities across the country are benefiting from the regulations currently in place. DHS told Congress that thousands of facilities are taking action to secure their sites and the number of high-risk chemical facilities has decreased under CFATS.

"ACC and our members commend the leadership of Senators Collins, Landrieu, Portman and Pryor on this important issue that will help us continue to protect our facilities, our employees, the communities in which we operate, and produce the vital products we supply every day to the nation."
Since 2001, ACC members have helped lead the way on chemical security, investing more than $8 billion on facility security enhancements under ACC's Responsible Care® Security Code , which has become a model for the industry and regulatory programs.

Learn more about security .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.