Contact: Jenny Heumann (202) 249-6520  

Awards presented at annual Responsible Care® Conference & Expo

HOLLYWOOD, Fla. (April 30, 2012) - The American Chemistry Council (ACC) kicked off its 21st Annual Responsible Care Conference and Expo by honoring member and partner companies, as well as individuals that have made significant contributions to the environment, health, safety and security in the chemical industry.

The annual Responsible Care Conference, which highlights the industry's world-class environmental, health, safety and security performance initiative, provides a forum for industry leaders to learn from their peers and other experts in the field about strategies to improve their companies' performance and expand business opportunities.

This year's conference also will focus on the ongoing strategic review of the Responsible Care program , which will culminate later this year with the announcement of improvements to further enhance the performance, credibility and strength of the industry in the product and process safety arenas, the inclusion of energy efficiency as part of Responsible Care, as well as enhanced performance measurement and reporting on environmental issues and energy efficiency.

"For nearly 25 years, ACC member and partner companies have implemented Responsible Care to significantly enhance their performance; improve the health and safety of their employees and the communities in which they operate; and enrich the environment as a whole," said Greg Babe, Chair of ACC's Board Committee on Responsible Care and President and CEO of Bayer Corporation and Bayer MaterialScience LLC. "As we are enhancing our program to further improve Responsible Care, we are pleased to acknowledge those companies and individuals who have gone above and beyond to serve as true examples of our industry's finest."

ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance, and are selected by an external expert committee. The following awards were presented this morning at the 2012 Responsible Care Conference & Expo:

The Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award is presented to one member and one partner company employee for outstanding leadership in Responsible Care. This year's Member Company Employee of the Year Award winner is Rollie B. Shook , Emergency Services & Security Associate Director with Dow Chemical Company. Shook also is chair of the National TRANSCAER® Task Group, where he provides expertise on emergency planning and response on a global basis. He has been a leader both within Dow and nationally on emergency response and planning and security systems management. 

The Partner Company Employee of the Year Award is being presented to Kevin 'Skip' Parker , Safety Director with Service Transport Company. Parker was a key driver in building and expanding support for Responsible Care among Service Transport corporate leadership and has mentored other Partner companies in program implementation and recruited additional companies to the program.

The Responsible Care Partner Award recognizes the performance and excellent safety record of companies involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal and/or sales and marketing of chemicals. This year's Responsible Care Partner Award winners are: Kansas City Southern Railway in Kansas City, Mo., Miller Transporters, Inc. from Jackson, Miss., and WTS, Inc. , based in Lewiston, N.Y.

The Responsible Care Performance Award recognizes those member companies who excelled at helping ACC meet industry-wide safety and product stewardship targets. This year, 17 companies received the Performance Award, including:

  • Akzo Nobel Chemicals, Inc.
  • Albemarle Corporation
  • Arkema, Inc.
  • Cabot Corporation
  • Dow Corning Corporation
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Honeywell
  • Linde North America, Inc.
  • Marathon Petroleum Company LP
  • Merisol USA LLC
  • Methanex Corporation
  • PQ Corporation
  • R. T. Vanderbilt Company, Inc.
  • SI Group
  • The HallStar Company
  • W.R. Grace & Co.

The Responsible Care Facility Safety Certificate is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. The following 40 companies are receiving ACC's 2012 Facility Safety Certificates:

  • Afton Chemical Corporation
  •  Akzo Nobel Chemicals, Inc.
  • Albemarle Corporation
  • Arch Chemicals, Inc.
  • Arkema, Inc.
  • BASF Corporation
  • Bayer Corporation
  • Braskem America, Inc.
  • Cabot Corporation
  • Carus Corporation
  • Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP
  • Dow
  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • Ecolab Inc.
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Evonik Degussa Corporation
  • Honeywell
  • ICL North America
  • ISP Chemco, Inc.
  • LyondellBasell Industries N.V.
  • The Lubrizol Corporation
  • 3M
  • Marathon Petroleum Company LP
  • Merisol USA LLC
  • Momentive Performance Materials Holdings LLC
  • Olin Corporation
  • OMNOVA Solutions, Inc.
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • Praxair, Inc.
  • Rhodia Inc.
  • SABIC Innovative Plastics
  • Sartomer USA, LLC
  • Shell Chemical Company
  • SNF Holding Company
  • Solutia Inc.
  • Solvay America, Inc.
  • Taminco
  • Texas Brine Company, LLC
  • W.R. Grace & Co.

Responsible Care is the chemical industry's world-class environmental, health, safety and security performance initiative. For nearly 25 years, Responsible Care has helped  ACC member companies significantly enhance their performance and reputation, discover new business opportunities, and improve the health and safety of their employees and communities and the environment as a whole.

For more information about Responsible Care, visit: .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.