Contact: Jenny Heumann (202) 249-6520; cell (202) 549-4839  

Awards presented at annual Responsible Care® Conference & Expo

WASHINGTON (April 25, 2016) - Today, at the 2016 Responsible Care Conference & Expo, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) honors chemical industry leaders for outstanding work in chemical management, including environmental, health, safety and security (EHS&S) performance.

In addition to celebrating Responsible Care companies and their achievements, the Responsible Care Conference & Expo provides a forum for industry leaders to learn from their peers and other experts in the field about best practices to expand EHS&S performance initiatives.

ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance and are selected by a committee made up of internal and external experts.

"The companies and individuals honored today are leaders in the industry and we're proud to recognize their achievements," said Michael Graff, chair of ACC's Board Responsible Care Committee and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc., based in Houston. "These award winners play a vital role in driving continuous improvement in the safety and sustainability of our products and operations through Responsible Care."

The following awards were presented this morning at the 2016 Responsible Care Conference & Expo:

The Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award recognizes one member and one Partner company employee for exceptional leadership in Responsible Care. This year's member company Employee of the Year is Wil van Haaren , Behavior Science Director at Dow. Van Haaren demonstrated outstanding leadership in applying principles of cognitive behavior science to drive company performance growth and safety. Working with his site EH&S and Reliability teams, he has motivated and inspired employees to follow the standards and processes designed to keep them safe.

The ACC Partner company Employee of the Year is Nate Buelt , general manager with the ChemSolutions Division at CH Robinson Worldwide, Inc. Under Buelt's leadership in 2015, the ChemSolutions division achieved audit results of zero non-conformances for the first time in division history. Buelt also serves in a number of leadership positions in the Responsible Care Partner Program, including co-chair of the 3PL Sector Workgroup, where he has been a resource for other 3PL partner companies that are implementing the Product and Process Safety Codes.

The Responsible Care Partner Award recognizes the superb performance and safety record of companies involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal and/or sales and marketing of chemicals. Award winners have met all Responsible Care reporting obligations, completed third-party certification of either RCMS or RC14001, affirmed implementation of the Responsible Care Security Code, and also had zero fatalities in the past calendar year. This year's Responsible Care Partner Award winners are: Canadian National Railway Company , based in Montreal, Canada; BDP International in Philadelphia, and WTS, Inc. in Lewiston, New York.

The Product Safety Award recognizes member companies who have excelled at driving continuous improvement in their product safety and stewardship programs. This year's Product Safety Award winners are Covestro LLC and Dow .

The Responsible Care Facility Safety Award is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. The following 41 companies received ACC's 2016 Facility Safety Certificates:

  • Afton Chemical Corporation
  • AkzoNobel N.V.
  • Albemarle Corporation
  • Arkema, Inc.
  • Ashland, Inc.
  • ASHTA Chemicals, Inc.
  • BASF Corporation
  • Cabot Corporation
  • Celanese
  • Chemtura
  • Chevron Oronite Company, LLC
  • Chevron Phillips Chemical Company, L.P. 
  • Clariant Corporation 
  • Covestro, LLC
  • Dow 
  • Dow Corning Corporation
  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • Eco Services Operations, LLC
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Evonik Corporation
  • Hexion, Inc.
  • ICL North America
  • Ingevity Corporation
  • LyondellBasell 
  • Marathon Petroleum Corporation
  • Milliken Chemical
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • Olin Corporation
  • OMNOVA Solutions, Inc.
  • Pinova Holdings
  • PQ Corporation
  • Shell Chemical, L.P.
  • SI Group
  • SNF Holding Company
  • Stepan Company
  • Texas Brine Company, LLC
  • The Lubrizol Corporation
  • Total Petrochemicals & Refining USA, Inc.
  • Trinseo, LLC 
  • W.R. Grace & Co.

ACC also presented the Waste Minimization, Reuse and Recycling Award to companies with significant achievements in the mentioned areas. The following 12 member companies received recognition:

  • Albemarle Corporation: Waste Minimization category
  • Ashland Inc.: Recycling category
  • BASF Corporation: Beneficial Reuse category
  • Dakota Gasification Company: Waste Minimization category
  • Dow: Waste Minimization category
  • Dow Corning: Waste Minimization category
  • FMC Corporation (Middleport Plant and Wyoming Plant): Waste Minimization category 
  • Hexion, Inc.: Waste Minimization category (two awards)
  • Marathon Petroleum Corporation: Waste Minimization category
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation: Beneficial Reuse category; Recycling category; Waste Minimization category
  • SABIC: Waste Minimization category
  • W.R. Grace & Co.: Waste Minimization category

For more information on Responsible Care, visit: .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.