Kendra Borja, (703) 741-5835
May 3, 2010

Miami, Fl. (May 3, 2010) - For more than a decade, the American Chemistry Council's (ACC) Responsible Care Awards Program has recognized companies and individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the improved performance of the chemical sector. ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance, and winners are selected by an external expert committee. 

In presenting the awards before an audience of 300 chemical industry executives at the annual Responsible Care conference in Miami today, ACC President and CEO Cal Dooley said, " For more than twenty years, Responsible Care has represented a common commitment of companies working together to continuously improve our industry's performance.  The companies and individuals recognized today have distinguished themselves as leaders in our commitment to sustainability."

The " New Responsible Care Company of the Year Award " recognizes those member and Partner companies who fulfill their Responsible Care obligations, including third-party certification and all reporting obligations, ahead of schedule.   This year's winner is WTS, Inc., who completed their Responsible Care commitments more than a year ahead of schedule.

The " Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award " is presented to one member and one Partner company employee for outstanding leadership in Responsible Care. This year's employee awards go to: Diane Larson of Occidental Chemical Corporation (member company) and Michael Ford of BDP International Inc (partner).

The " Responsible Care Performance Award " recognizes those member companies who excelled at helping ACC meet industry-wide safety and product stewardship targets.  This year's winning companies are:

Air Liquide USA LLC FMC Corporation
Anderson Development Company Infineum USA L.P.
Ferro Corporation Merisol USA LLC
Albemarle Corporation Niacet Corporation
Dow Stepan Company

The " Responsible Care Partner Award " is being presented for the first time, recognizes the performance and excellent safety record of "partner companies"; for example, companies that are involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal and/or sales and marketing of chemicals.  This year's Responsible Care Partner award winners are GATX Rail, Miller Transporters, Inc and Lacy's Express, Inc.

The " Responsible Care Facility Safety Certificate " is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. ACC's 2010 Facility Safety Certificates are being awarded to:

Akzo Nobel Chemicals, Inc. Infineum USA L.P
Albemarle Corporation ISP Chemco, Inc.
Anderson Development Company Marathon Petroleum Company LLC
Arch Chemicals, Inc. Nalco
Arkema Inc. Occidental Chemical Company
BASF Corporation Praxair, Inc.
Celanese Rhodia Inc.
Chevron Oronite Company LLC SNF Holding Company
Cognis Corporation Solvay America, Inc.
Dow Sunoco, Inc.
ExxonMobil Chemical Company Taminco
Ferro Corporation Texas Brine Company, LLC
FMC Corporation The Lubrizol Corporation
Honeywell TPC Group Inc
ICL North America W.R. Grace & Co.

Learn more about Responsible Care .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.