Contact: Jenny Heumann (202) 249-6520; cell (202) 549-4839  

Awards presented at annual Responsible Care® Conference & Expo

MIAMI (April 14, 2015) - Today, at the 2015 Responsible Care Conference & Expo, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) recognizes chemical industry leaders for exceptional accomplishments in chemical management, including environmental, health, safety and security (EHS&S) performance.

In addition to celebrating Responsible Care companies and their achievements, the Responsible Care Conference & Expo provides a forum for industry leaders to learn from their peers and other experts in the field about best practices to expand EHS&S performance initiatives.

ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance, and are selected by a committee made up of internal and external experts.

"Responsible Care is our industry's commitment to continuous improvement in all aspects of our operations-from employee safety to facility security to protection of the health of the communities in which we operate and the environment as a whole," said Paul Carrico, chair of ACC's Board Committee on Responsible Care and President and CEO of Axiall Corp., based in Atlanta. "The companies we are recognizing today represent the best of the best and are leaders to their industry peers."

The following awards were presented this morning at the 2015 Responsible Care Conference & Expo:

The Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award recognized one member for outstanding leadership in Responsible Care this year. This year's winner is Jeff Wooster , an internationally recognized value chain sustainability expert at Dow. Wooster is responsible for market-focused sustainable packaging initiatives within Dow's Performance Plastics business and has led education initiatives on limiting food waste, benefits of flexible packaging and recycling waste for energy recovery. He has published numerous technical papers, spoken at national and international sustainability conferences and engages on important topics in social media.

The Responsible Care Partner Award recognizes the superb performance and safety record of companies involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal and/or sales and marketing of chemicals. This year's Responsible Care Partner Award winners are: Miller Transporters, Inc. , based in Jackson, Mississippi; WTS, Inc. in Lewiston, New York, and Union Tank Car Company in Chicago, Illinois.

The Responsible Care New Company of the Year Award recognizes member companies who have joined during the most recent certification cycle and fulfilled their Responsible Care obligations ahead of schedule. The New Member Company of the Year Award goes to Sentinel Transportation, LLC , based in Wilmington, Delaware.

The Product Safety Award is new this year. The award recognizes those member companies who have excelled at driving continuous improvement in chemical product safety. This year's Product Safety Award winners are AkzoNobel N.V. , based in Amsterdam, Netherlands; Dow , in Midland, Michigan; and LyondellBasell , in Houston, Texas.

The Responsible Care Facility Safety Award is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. The following 45 companies received ACC's 2015 Facility Safety Certificates:

  • 3M
  • Afton Chemical Corporation
  • AkzoNobel N.V.
  • Arkema Inc.
  • Ashland, Inc.
  • ASHTA Chemicals Inc.
  • BASF Corporation
  • Bayer Corporation
  • Braskem America, Inc.
  • Cabot Corporation
  • Celanese
  • Chemtura
  • Clariant Corporation
  • Dow
  • Dow Corning Corporation
  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • EMD Millipore
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Evonik Corporation
  • Evonik Oil Additives USA, Inc.
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company
  • FMC Corporation
  • Hexion Inc.
  • Honeywell
  • ICL North America
  • The Lubrizol Corporation
  • LyondellBasell
  • Marathon Petroleum Corporation
  • MeadWestvaco Corporation
  • Nalco (An Ecolab Company)
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • Olin Corporation
  • OMNOVA Solutions, Inc.
  • Praxair, Inc.
  • Procter & Gamble, Chemicals Division
  • PQ Corporation
  • Shell Chemical LP
  • SNF Holding Company
  • Solvay Americas
  • Taminco US, Inc.
  • Texas Brine Company, LLC
  • TPC Group, Inc.
  • Trinseo
  • W.R. Grace & Co.

ACC also presented the Waste Minimization, Reuse and Recycling Award to companies with great achievements in the mentioned areas. The following 12 member companies have received recognition for the award:

  • BASF Corporation: Recycling category
  • Celanese: Waste Minimization category
  • Dana Transportation Companies: Waste Minimization category
  • Dow-Louisiana: Waste Minimization category
  • Dow-USA: Beneficial Reuse category
  • Dow-West Virginia: Beneficial Reuse category
  • Dow Corning Corporation: Recycling category
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company: Waste Minimization category
  • The Lubrizol Corporation: Waste Minimization category
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation-Louisiana: Beneficial Reuse category
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation-Texas: Waste Minimization & Recycling categories
  • Procter & Gamble, Chemicals Division: Beneficial Reuse category

For more information on Responsible Care, visit: .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.