Awards presented at annual Responsible Care® Conference & Expo

Contact: Jenny Heumann (202) 249-6520  

Miami, Fla. (May 5, 2014) - Today, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) is honoring exceptional industry leaders at its 2014 Responsible Care Conference & Expo.

The annual Responsible Care Conference, which highlights the industry's world-class environmental, health, safety and security performance initiative, provides a forum for industry leaders to learn from their peers and other experts in the field about strategies to improve their companies' product safety and process safety performance and expand business opportunities.

"These companies and individuals truly embody the Responsible Care ethic and give the Responsible Care program its credibility and strength," said ACC President and CEO Cal Dooley.  "They demonstrate the chemical industry's commitment to sound performance and the health and safety of its workers, its customers, and the communities in which we operate."

ACC Responsible Care award winners qualify based on exemplary performance, and are selected by a committee made up of internal and external experts. The following awards were presented this morning at the 2014 Responsible Care Conference & Expo:

The Responsible Care Employee of the Year Award is presented to one member and one Partner company employee for outstanding leadership in Responsible Care. This year's Member Company Employee of the Year Award winner is Trip Friend, who works for Dow Chemical in Houston. Friend designed and built a web-based application to replace an existing program for tracking safety training and behaviors and personal safety goals. He improved the user interface so personnel could effortlessly address safety trends and individual and team performance.

The Partner Company Employee of the Year Award is presented to Amanda Mae Heintz with Schneider Logistics in Green Bay, Wis. This past year, Heintz created an RCMS/ISO Champ Group, to spread understanding of Responsible Care throughout Schneider, spoke at numerous industry conferences and led the organization through two certification audits.

The Responsible Care Partner of the Year Award recognizes the superb performance and safety record of companies involved in the distribution, transportation, storage, use, treatment-disposal and/or sales and marketing of chemicals. This year's Responsible Care Partner Award winners are: Miller Transporters, based in Jackson, Miss.; Material Logistics and Services - A Division of Warehouse Specialists in Appleton, Wis.; and WTS, Inc. in Lewiston, N.Y.

The Responsible Care New Company of the Year Award recognizes member and Partner companies who have joined during the most recent certification cycle and fulfilled their Responsible Care obligations ahead of schedule. The New Member Company of the Year Award goes to AC&S Inc. , based in Nitro, W.Va.; and the New Partner Company of the Year Awards go to Atlantic Bulk Carrier in Providence Forge, Va.; OHL - Dedicated Contract Logistics in Crystal Lake, Ill.; and Material Logistics & Services - a Division of Warehouse Specialists in Appleton, Wis.

The Responsible Care Performance Award recognizes those member companies who excelled at helping ACC meet industry-wide safety and product stewardship targets. This year, 25 companies received the Performance Award, including:

  • Afton Chemical Corporation
  • Anderson Development Company
  • BASF Corporation
  • Celanese
  • Chemtura
  • El Dorado Nitrogen, L.P.
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Ferro Corporation
  • FMC Corporation
  • Infineum USA L.P.
  • Innospec Specialty Chemicals
  • LANXESS Corporation
  • Linde North America, Inc.
  • Merichem Company
  • Methanex Corporation
  • Niacet Corporation
  • Nova Molecular Technologies, Inc.
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • Shell Chemical LP
  • SI Group
  • SNF Holding Company
  • Vertex Chemical Corporation
  • W.R. Grace & Co.
  • Wacker Chemical Corporation

The Responsible Care Facility Safety Award is presented to member companies based on achievements in employee health and safety performance. The following 40 companies received ACC's 2014 Facility Safety Award:

  • 3M
  • Afton Chemical Corporation
  • American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc.
  • AkzoNobel N.V.
  • Albemarle Corporation
  • Arkema, Inc.
  • Ashland, Inc.
  • Bayer Corporation
  • Cabot Corporation
  • Celanese
  • Chemtura
  • Chevron Oronite Company LLC
  • Dow Chemical Company
  • Dow Corning Corporation
  • Eastman Chemical Company
  • Ecolab, Inc.
  • Ethyl Corporation
  • Evonik Corporation
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company
  • FMC Corporation
  • Honeywell
  • ICL North America
  • Infineum USA L.P.
  • Kuehne Chemical Company, Inc.
  • The Lubrizol Corporation
  • LyondellBasell Industries N.V.
  • Marathon Petroleum Corporation
  • MeadWestvaco Corporation
  • Momentive Performance Materials Holdings LLC
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation
  • Olin Corporation
  • OMNOVA Solutions, Inc.
  • PQ Corporation
  • Praxair, Inc.
  • Shell Chemical LP
  • SNF Holding Company
  • Solvay America, Inc.
  • Taminco
  • Texas Brine Company, LLC
  • W.R. Grace & Co.

The Waste Minimization, Reuse and Recycling Award recognizes companies with achievements in these areas. The following member companies have received recognition this year for the award:

  • Afton Chemical Corporation, Waste Minimization category
  • BASF Corporation - Port Arthur, Recycling category
  • BASF Corporation - Washington, Beneficial Reuse category
  • Ecolab Inc., Recycling category
  • Marathon Petroleum Corporation, Recycling category
  • Momentive Performance Materials Holdings LLC, Recycling category
  • Occidental Chemical Corporation, Waste Minimization category
  • SABIC, Recycling category
  • WTS, Inc. & PPG Industries, Inc. (joint application), Beneficial Reuse category

For more information on Responsible Care, visit: .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.