Contact: Scott Jensen, (202) 249-6511

WASHINGTON (April 26, 2016) - TRANSCAER® ( Trans portation C ommunity A wareness and E mergency R esponse), a one-of-a-kind outreach effort that focuses on assisting communities to prepare for and respond to a possible hazardous materials transportation incident, announced today its 2015 award recipients.

"TRANSCAER's top priorities continue to focus on training programs that support the safe transportation of anhydrous ammonia, chlorine, crude oil and ethanol by rail and highway. We are very proud that during the 2015 training season, we helped more than 50,000 emergency responders throughout North America become better prepared to safely and effectively respond to emergencies," said National TRANSCAER Task Group Chairman Frank Reiner, president of the Chlorine Institute. "The TRANSCAER Awards Program acknowledges and thanks the dedicated volunteers for their long-term commitment and hard work to help ensure communities are prepared to deal with possible hazardous materials transportation incidents."

Volunteers consist of representatives from chemical producers, transportation carriers, distribution, industry associations, emergency response personnel and industries, responders and government agencies. Companies provide resources at training sites that may include hands-on training, emergency planning assistance, support for community drills and exercises, technical information and reference and training materials. The initiative was founded in 1986 and will be celebrating its 30th anniversary this year.

The TRANSCAER Awards Program recognizes individuals, companies and organizations that went above and beyond in helping communities through their support of TRANSCAER. This year's awards include: the Distinguished Service Award, TRANSCAER's highest level of recognition; the Chairman's Award, a special, discretionary award given by the National TRANSCAER Task Group Chairman; the National and Regional Achievement Awards; and the Individual Achievement and Certificate of Appreciation Awards.

All of the recipients have demonstrated a clear commitment to the emergency responders and the communities where they serve to enhance safety. This year there were 109 Individual Achievement Awards and 43 Certificates of Appreciation Awards among the awards given, including the following recipients:

  • Distinguished Service Award
    • Ray Beaudry, DuPont (retired)

  • Chairman's Award  
    • Amy Rezmer, Dow Chemical

  • National Achievement 
    • BNSF Railway 
    • Canadian National DG Team/Canadian National Railway 
    • Canadian Pacific 
    • Central California Traction Company/Dave Buccolo 
    • CSX Transportation 
    • DANA Transport Inc. 
    • Norfolk Southern Corporation 
    • Renewable Fuels Association 
    • Tanner Industries, Inc. 
    • The Chlorine Institute 
    • The Dow Chemical Company 
    • Union Pacific Railroad 

  • Regional Achievement
    • KCS Railway

The full list of current and previous award recipients is available by visiting the TRANSCAER website at .


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.