Contact Us

Scott Jensen
(202) 249-6511

WASHINGTON (April 18, 2017) – When it comes to a transportation incident involving hazardous materials, seconds count and so does preparation. The volunteers that support TRANSCAER® (Transportation Community Awareness and Emergency Response) understand the importance of being prepared, which is why the group is proud to announce the 2016 award recipients for their outstanding commitment to helping communities across the country.

“We greatly appreciate the strong commitment and leadership of our dedicated volunteers to help keep emergency responders across the country and the communities they serve safe,” said National TRANSCAER Task Group Chairman Keith Silverman, VP of the Global Operations, Quality and EHS at Ashland. “Because of them TRANSCAER has been able to provide valuable, life-saving training to 50,000 emergency responders throughout North America to better prepare and more effectively handle transportation incidents involving hazardous materials.”

Volunteers consist of representatives from chemical producers, transportation carriers, distribution, industry associations, emergency response personnel and industries, responders and government agencies. Companies provide resources at training sites that may include hands-on training, emergency planning assistance, support for community drills and exercises, technical information and reference and training materials. The training helps communities deal with primarily highway and rail related transportation incidents involving crude oil, ethanol and a variety of hazardous materials.

The TRANSCAER Awards Program recognizes individuals, companies and organizations that go above and beyond in helping communities through their support of TRANSCAER. The 2016 National Awards Recognition Program include: the Distinguished Service Award, TRANSCAER’s highest level of recognition; the Chairman's Award, a special, discretionary award given by the National TRANSCAER Task Group Chairman; the National and Regional Achievement Awards; and the Individual Achievement and Certificate of Appreciation Awards. All of the recipients demonstrate a clear commitment to the emergency responders and the communities where they serve to enhance safety, training and relationship building. 

This year there were 41 Individual Achievement Awards and 142 Certificates of Appreciation Awards among the awards given, including the following recipients below.

Distinguished Service Award:

  • Dave Buccolo, Central California Traction Company, (Retired)

Chairman’s Award:

  • Ed Chapman, BNSF Railway (Retired)  
  • Mike Stephenson, Benjamin Moore & Co.  

National Achievement:

  • BNSF Railway
  • CN  
  • Canadian Pacific  
  • CSX Transportation  
  • DANA Transport Inc.  
  • Norfolk Southern Corporation  
  • Renewable Fuels Association  
  • Tanner Industries, Inc.  
  • The Chlorine Institute  
  • The Dow Chemical Company  
  • Union Pacific Railroad

Regional Achievement:

  • KCS Railway 
  • New Jersey state TRANSCAER team  
  • North Dakota state TRANSCAER team

» Full list of current and previous award recipients 

» TRANSCAER training fact sheet


News & Resources

View our resource center to find press releases, testimonies, infographics and more.