Overregulating the chemistry industry jeopardizes innovation, jobs, and economic growth. Learn more.

  • Read time: 3 minutes
  • Press Release

American Chemistry Council Elects New Class to Board of Directors

Sarah Scruggs Brandt

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 7, 2023) – During today’s annual business meeting, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) approved twenty-eight individuals to serve on its board of directors for new or extended terms beginning January 1, 2024.

“The expertise, knowledge, and product diversity reflected in our board of directors is a tremendous asset to ACC,” said ACC President and CEO Chris Jahn. Our Board’s leadership will continue to guide us as we navigate an unprecedented era of challenge and change as we pursue the goal of a world made better by chemistry.”

The ACC board of directors sets council policy, provides strategic direction, and approves advocacy priorities and the annual budget.

The following individuals were approved to serve on the ACC board of directors:
For a term beginning on January 1, 2024 and ending December 31, 2024:
  • Lucian Boldea, President of Performance Materials and Technology – Honeywell
  • Machteld de Haan, Executive Vice President Designee, Chemicals and Products – Shell Chemical LP
  • Samir Hifri, Chairman and President Designee – Covestro LLC
  • Roger Kearns, President and CEO – NOVA Chemicals
  • Michael Lefenfeld, President and CEO – Hexion Inc.
  • Brian Paliotti, President – Afton Chemical Corporation
  • Ed Sparks, CEO – W.R. Grace & Co.
  • Eric Stouder, President of the Americas – Sasol (USA) Corporation
For terms beginning on January 1, 2024 and ending December 31, 2025:
  • Bruce Chinn, CEO – Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LLC
  • Dean Cordle, President and CEO – A C & S, Incorporated
  • Jim Nicholson – Co-Chair of the Board, PVS Chemicals, Inc.
  • John Paro, Chairman, President & CEO – Hallstar
  • Tom Shepherd, Chairman & CEO – The Shepherd Chemical Company
For terms beginning on January 1, 2024 and ending December 31, 2026:
  • Scott Behrens, President and CEO – Stepan Company
  • Cindy Boiter, EVP and President, Chemicals – Milliken Chemical, A Division of Milliken and Co
  • Peter Huntsman, Chairman, President and CEO – Huntsman Corporation
  • Conrad Keijzer, CEO – Clariant Corporation
  • Robert King, Executive Vice President Crop Protection – Corteva Agriscience
  • Rebecca Liebert, CEO – The Lubrizol Corporation
  • Guillermo Novo, Chairman & CEO – Ashland Inc.
  • John Panichella, President & CEO – Solenis
  • Randy Pogue, President & CEO – Americas Styrenics LLC
  • Alastair Port, Executive President – Indorama Ventures
  • Brian Powers, Vice President for the Americas – SABIC
  • Larry Ryan, President for the Americas, EVP For Performance Formulations – Nouryon
  • Andy Tometich, CEO – Quaker Houghton
  • Peter Vanacker, CEO – LyondellBasell
  • Michael Willome, Group CEO – Synthomer Plc

To learn more about ACC membership, visit www.americanchemistry.com/membership.

American Chemistry Council

The American Chemistry Council’s mission is to advocate for the people, policy, and products of chemistry that make the United States the global leader in innovation and manufacturing. To achieve this, we: Champion science-based policy solutions across all levels of government; Drive continuous performance improvement to protect employees and communities through Responsible Care®; Foster the development of sustainability practices throughout ACC member companies; and Communicate authentically with communities about challenges and solutions for a safer, healthier and more sustainable way of life. Our vision is a world made better by chemistry, where people live happier, healthier, and more prosperous lives, safely and sustainably—for generations to come.