Overregulating the chemistry industry jeopardizes innovation, jobs, and economic growth. Learn more.

  • Read time: 2 minutes
  • Press Release

American Chemistry Council Elects New Class to Board of Directors

Sarah Scruggs Brandt

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (June 4, 2024) – During today’s Annual Business Meeting, the American Chemistry Council (ACC) approved twenty-three individuals to serve on its board of directors for new or extended terms beginning January 1, 2025.

Chris Jahn, President & CEO | American Chemistry Council
I’m humbled by the continued commitment of our members to lead ACC forward as the premier U.S. advocacy organization for chemical manufacturers. I look forward to continuing to recruit and grow the diverse representation on our Board so that we can serve our industry in new ways and as one collective voice.

The ACC board of directors sets council policy, provides strategic direction, and approves advocacy priorities and the annual budget.

The following individuals were approved to serve on the ACC board of directors:
For term beginning on January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2025:
  • Frederique van Baarle, President & CEO – LANXESS Corporation
  • Denise Dignam, President and CEO – Chemours Company
  • Francois Good, President & CEO – TotalEnergies Petrochemicals & Refining USA, Inc.
  • Robert Peterson, Executive Vice President, Essential Chemistry – Occidental Chemical
  • Steve Prusak, President and CEO – Chevron Phillips Chemical Company LP
  • Guido Skudlarek, President North America Region - Evonik Corporation
For terms beginning on January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2027:
  • Darrell Brown, Executive Vice President & President of Global Industrial – Nalco (an Ecolab Company)
  • Phil Brown, Managing Director – ICL Group America Inc.
  • Mark Costa, Chairman and CEO – Eastman Chemical Company
  • Machteld de Haan, EVP Chemicals and Products – Shell Chemical LP
  • Michael Finelli, Chief North America Officer & Chief Technology and Innovation Officer – Syensqo
  • Jim Fitterling, Chair and CEO – Dow
  • John Fortson, President and CEO – Ingevity
  • Michael Heinz, Chairman and CEO – BASF Corporation
  • Samir Hifri, Chairman and President – Covestro, LLC
  • Roger Kearns, President and CEO – NOVA Chemicals Corporation
  • Michael Lefenfeld, President and CEO – Hexion Inc.
  • Karen McKee, President – ExxonMobil Product Solutions Company
  • Phil McDivitt, President and CEO – Ascend
  • Brian Paliotti, President – Afton Chemical Corporation
  • Ronaldo Pereira, Executive Vice President and President Americas – FMC Corporation
  • Ed Sparks, CEO – W.R. Grace
  • Eric Stouder, President of the Americas – Sasol (USA) Corporation

Learn more about ACC membership.

American Chemistry Council

The American Chemistry Council’s mission is to advocate for the people, policy, and products of chemistry that make the United States the global leader in innovation and manufacturing. To achieve this, we: Champion science-based policy solutions across all levels of government; Drive continuous performance improvement to protect employees and communities through Responsible Care®; Foster the development of sustainability practices throughout ACC member companies; and Communicate authentically with communities about challenges and solutions for a safer, healthier and more sustainable way of life. Our vision is a world made better by chemistry, where people live happier, healthier, and more prosperous lives, safely and sustainably—for generations to come.